top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah

Back with the Saturday reads


So continuing with Saturday Reads, I'd to share with you books that I have previously read and think you'd enjoy spending your Saturday with! Now I had this scheduled to go up on Saturday but it didn't so enjoy this on this wonderful Sunday! I want to share a book that really changed reading for me.

Outlander (Book 1 of the Outlander Series), Diana Gabaldon. ©1991, Delta Trade Paperbacks ( July 2001). 627 pages.


Quick Summary: Set in 1945 Claire Randall has come back from the war as a combat nurse and is happy to be with her husband. Off on a second honeymoon in Scotland, things go terribly wrong when she walks through a circle of standing stones. Claire wakes up in a completely different era, 1743 to be exact. Now a Sassenach - and "outlander" - she is in the middle of war times and mustn't let anyone know of her true identity and find a way back to her husband in the future. Claire must face new and strange ways and things can break her heart. Here she meets James Fraser, a warrior unlike the others. She faces one ultimate challenge, who will she choose to be.

Outlander is hands down my all time favorite book. Like as a reader that is so hard to say because it feels like every book is your favorite book but this one is different. I honestly probably would have never thought to even glance at this book if it wasn't for one of my favorite BookTubers (Youtuber that is focused on books). I remember I watched the first episode of the show and I was like "HOLY SHIT I MUST READ THIS SERIES!" I ordered the book ASAP and started reading it the day it came. I was in school at the time so it took me a full week and a half to read it. I never wanted the book to end, at times I felt like I would never get to the end but once the end actually came I was in a major slump. The book broke my heart multiple times and put it back together. I cried when I finished because I was so sad that the book was over, I knew that there was the rest of the series but it's not the same. Once you read a book you can never read it for the first time again and I think that's what really tore me up. I started and finished a book the same night I finished "Outlander" because I needed a rebound book.

I usually read books that are Young Adult and this I would say that this is more New Adult. I was shocked when I found out that this was written before I was born! I learned so much about old Scottish culture, everyday I read this I felt more and more drawn to visit Scotland. If it wasn't for Diana Gabaldon and this book I doubt Scotland would've crossed my mind. The incredible detail that in the book is so amazing. There is only ever been one series that I loved as much as this and that was the "The Mortal Instruments" series. If you're on the edge about this book then I suggest you do and watch the first episode of the series and see if it's something you're interested in. You can find it on Amazon and STARZ. I hope you've enjoyed this review and let me know what you think down in the comments!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page