top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah

Extraordinary Means


Part of my New Year's resolution it to commit to writing two reviews each week. Now wether that be the most recent book I've read or something from the past I'm going to make it happen. I feel awful that I haven't dedicated the time I wanted to, to this blog and to reading in general. On that note let's get this review going.

Extraordinary Means, Robyn Schneider. ©2015 Katherine Tegen Books. 324 pages.


Quick Summary: Lane lived a quiet and studious life, that is until he is diagnosed with an incurable strain of tuberculosis. Four hundred miles away from his future, Lane would be spending the foreseeable future at Latham house, a TB sanitarium. New rules, a med sensor, and the ever so compelling Sadie will irreversibly change Lane's life.

I finally found this book a few days before New Year's eve and there was no way I was waiting till the new year to start it. I saw the book trailer on YouTube and instantly fell in love. I think part of my wanted to read this so badly is because subconsciously knew it would like TFIOS. Of course I was right but Schneider made it its own. This book was uplifting and it made you really question your life. These kids now life with something deadly and incurable disease. They don't have a future, just the present.

This was a bit cheesy at points but not as much as I expected. It's a good romance and social issue YA novel. I really enjoyed the journey and the realizations that Lane the four others have a long this always changing journey. You only have one life to live and it's not about the destination it's the journey. That's very cheesy and cliche but it's also very true. Enjoy what you have. There's not much else I have to say about this book. It's a very quick read, so if you're in a slump or want something our of your comfort zone this would be the book for you. I hope you enjoyed this brief review. Since I'm now back on a regular reading schedule, more reviews will be coming your way. Leave a comment below and let me know what you think!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page