top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah

"Gilt Hollow"

So this week I went out of my comfort zone and decided to pick up a mystery novel! I have a lot of mixed feelings so lets just jump right in and see what lies ahead (spooky right?).


Gilt Hollow, Lorie Langdon. ©2016 Blink. 337 Pages.


Quick Summary: When you live in a small town nothing is ever truly forgotten. Willow Lamott's best friend was convicted of murder and she's spent the last four years trying to forget it -- but it doesn't matter when Ashton Keller pops up after all this time. To everyones disbelief he won't go, even when it gets more dangerous for him and the ones he thought he stopped caring about. Revenge is his driving force and he won't stop until the true killer is brought to light. Can Willow and Ashton find the truth or will his return destroy everything he's fought to get back.

Gilt Hollow is probably the first young adult mystery/suspense book that I've read. To be completely honest this wasn't a very good book. I believe on GoodReads I gave it a three start rating. When I was in Barnes and Noble reading the little excerpt I was really excited to read it! I finished it quickly but it was "I need to finish this so I can move on" type of quick. I'm sure some people loved this book but I am not one of those people. For me the writing could be greatly improved upon and the story didn't really flow that well. I will say this book did have some great scenes but as a whole not so much. The characters needed a little more development and some scenes could've been cut out completely. I like the story it was trying to sell to me but the details didn't all quite flow. I'm still willing to try this genre and explore it more. Same as well with the author.

I'm not a writing expert nor do I claim to, I just want that to be clear. I want to put honest reviews for all of you. It's impossible to like every book you read. This isn't going to be the last book I read from this genre or this author. I think booktubers/bloggers feel that they have to review everything with a four plus rating. This blog is important to me and is a reflection of who I am. Even if so little people or no one reads anything I write on here I think it's important to always represent myself in the right way. More reviews are coming your way, let me know what you think down in the comments below!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page