top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah

Left Drowning


This weeks Saturday Read was my post Outlander read, it's sufficient to say that this brought me back from my heartbreak. I do want to say that this book was sexually graphic but that's not all it is. With that let's just jump right in.

Left Drowning, Jessica Park. ©2013 Amazon Publishing. 399 pages.

Quick Summary: In her last year in college Blythe McGuire is struggling to stay afloat. She still hasn't learned to deal with the accident that killed half her family. Call it fate or destiny but she has chance encounter with senior Chris Shepherd that immediately forms this undeniable attraction between the two of them. He pulls her out of the darkness that she's been living in since the accident, helping her learn to love again, and find herself. But things aren't always as they seem, Blythe discovers she isn't the only with a dark and traumatic past. The dark currents are nipping at Chris's feet and Blythe may be the only one to pull him out before he drowns.

I think when I started reading this, it started to turn into something great I wasn't expecting. This I said before this is the book I read after Outlander and it seriously cured my heartbreak. Part of the reason why I enjoyed this book so much was because it was so relatable and not so fictional I guess. The story is fiction but the problems faced in the book are problems that most people face. Love, heartbreak, loss, etc. no one get's to go through life without facing these and Park did such a great job addressing them. Another reason I enjoyed was because this whole setting basically takes place at college and everyone is an adult. It doesn't seem as cheesy as other books. Don't get wrong, I'm always down for a good cheesy book but it was refreshing to read something different.

The writing style was perfect. I read this book cover to cover in the same night, I just couldn't put it down. I was rooting for Blythe and Chris and internally crying when something major happened to them. It is really hard to write a good sex scene and Park did a fantastic job. Some authors make it too unrealistic but the first one started out awkward and turned into pure love. She captured the lust between these without overdoing it. It was scenes like that, that made my heart melt. There is a second book that I will be purchasing soon because this one was just so good. It's one of those that you wish you could read for the first time again.

All in all this book should go on your list of books to buy. If anyone ever asks me for a sad but love story this is the first book I recommend to them. I hoped you enjoyed this review and let me know what you think down below. Until next time guys!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page