top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah

Louder than Words


(Photo curtesy to https://s2.netgalley.com/catalog/book/95579)

Louder than Words, Iris St. Clair. ©2016 CreateSpace Publishing. 352 pages.


Quick Summary: Ellen has been dealt a shitty hand of cards and somehow she can't break the cycle. Her mom is a addict and an embarrassment, her brother and now guardian is trying his best and her secret starting to consume her. But incomes a this new boy that seems out of her league. That is until a stolen kiss changes it or does it? Read and follow Ellen on her journey to courage and learning to trust again.

Wow wow wow! This book was a quick and quirky read, I couldn't stop myself. St. Clair does such a wonderful job of addressing real and scary issues that young individuals face everyday. I don't want to give too much away because I feel it would take away from the story. I was lucky enough to receive this ARC as an Ebook which I typically don't do. It's not that I hate Ebooks or anything, it's just reading a physical copy is easier for me. Truth be told I'm glad I read it in this format though, it was a new and refreshing way for me to enjoy this story. That also explains why I just have an internet photo to display and not one I took myself.

Now let's get to our girl Ellen! Her character was written beautifully, and in such a quirky way I found some of myself in her. I think that's the key to writing a killer character. Making he/she more real, someone the reader can connect to. Ellen has been through hell and back in this book and I know sometimes we all go there. Dealing with addiction, sexual assault and teenage romance I think that's enough to break anyone. These aren't issues that only girls face, it women, men and boys. She shows how the fear of victim blaming is a very real issue, especially in schools and that is such an important issue that needs to be talked about more. I am so glad that authors are no longer shying away from "taboo" topics such as assault and addiction.

This is about I would encourage every young adult to read! It's not all serious, it's the perfect mix of awareness and heart-warming. Don't ever be afraid to speak up, you aren't the only one and people out there want to help! I hope that whoever reads this book enjoys it and the message it sends.

That's all for this review, I hope you all enjoyed it. Please leave your thoughts down in the comments below! I love to hear from you all. This book is available at B&N or Amazon. Until next time.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page