top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children


Instead of a book I have previously read, I am going to do a brand new review! As you all know the move for Miss Peregrine's premiered yesterday. So to prepare myself like any good reader I read the book first. I spent this whole week reading in my free time to get this read before seeing the movie. So without further ado I give you my take on Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs. ©2011 Quirk Books. 348 pages.

Quick Summary: Jacob has lived a very ordinary life, his only escape were grandpa's old stories. But when his grandpa is murdered by "wolves" he sets off to a strange island to find out if the stories he told Jacob were true or he really was crazy. What Jacob doesn't know is that whatever he discovers, his life will change forever.

I started and finished this book last week. I wanted to have it finished so I could go see the movie on Friday ( which I did in fact do). I really enjoyed reading this book, it was something different than usually read. It was full of mystery and it was crazy imaginative. It was a fantasy that I wish I could live in. Jacob the main character gets to go on this journey of self-discovery and has no idea how much his life is about to change!

Whenever I read books like this I get jealous of the authors. They have these amazing creative and imaginative side to them that I want so badly. That's not to say I'm not creative but I don't think I could ever create a story like Ransom Riggs did. He took all the scary stories we heard as a child and brought them to life in a way that makes people wish they really are real.

The story starts out innocent and simple but then BAM!! Riggs hits us with death and monsters. Makes you start wondering what's lurking in the shadows. There was some scenes that had the hairs on the back of my neck standing up, not because it was spooky (it was) but because the way it was written. He was able to make the book fun to read without over doing anything. I was living for Jacob and Emma scenes. They're both quirky and getting to read Jacobs thought during his encounters with her were so funny. I was especially impressed with how each Peculiar was described, not over exaggerated but enough to make you think "There's no way that's possible." The loop was also a really creative idea. They have been living the same day since September 3, 1940, never aging physically. I think we all wish that we could never again. As we read in the book though, it's not everything we make it to be. Never getting to live a life outside of whatever age you were when the loop was created. Even though they all had a special peculiarity they all thought of each other as equals even if Commons didn't. The Peculiar children had to be brave, not because they wanted to live so badly but because Miss Peregrine was in danger and her safety is what matters to them.

So to conclude I would definitely recommend reading this! I can't wait to start the second book hopefully soon. I hope you all enjoyed this review and let me know what you think down in the comments, if you've already read it let's discuss what you thought of it. Till next time.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page