top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah

Saturday Reads


This week for Saturday Reads I wanted to do a book that I loved from the moment I started reading it! The characters and storyline is so relatable, plus it takes place in Lincoln, Ne which is where I just moved from!

Fangirl (Exclusive Collector's Edition), Rainbow Rowell. ©2013 ST. Martin's Griffin. 433 pages.

Quick Summary: Cath is your poster child of a fangirl, she and her twin sister have be in love with the Simon Snow series since it first came out. Now that it's time for college to start Cath is distraught when her sister not only gives up writing Fanfic for Simon Snow but decides that they shouldn't be roommates, or in the same dorm for that matter. Cath has been very sheltered and now alone. She has to learn to trust people and herself. Cath has to start asking if she can have her fandom and a life outside of it. In her first year college will encounter a roommate she can't read, a professor that thinks fanfic is the end of literature, family struggles, and a boy that she isn't quite sure of yet.

Being apart of a fandom is of the best parts of reading, music, movies, etc. We all have a fictional character that we are just crazy for and some people don't get it. Reading takes us somewhere when the real world just isn't cutting it for us. When I was reading Fangirl I just found my heart attaching itself to Cath, her whole character and development through out the story was someone that I related to on a whole new level. It's the perfect plot for a coming-of-age story. I read this while I still lived in Lincoln, Ne. which is where this story takes place for the most part. It was so cool for me to actually know where the characters were eating or hanging out. Cath feels like she has no identity really without Simon Snow and the fanfic she writes. She struggles with finding herself and finding a way to trust herself. The people she meets along the way help her grow into someone Cath never thought she could be. Rowell was very good about keeping the story smooth and relatable.

What a lot people don't know is that her book Carry On is based on the Simon Snow books in Fangirl! It's a really unique situation. This is the second book by Rainbow Rowell that I've read and I am not disappointed at all. She also wrote Eleanor and Park which broke my heart and put it all back together. I have all been following her on twitter and saw that she plans on giving Cath a proper sequel!! A Fangirl sequel is exactly what this world needs. I hope that you all have enjoyed this review and give it a chance. Comment below if you'd like to see more of this or if you want me to do something different.

Until next Saturday!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page