top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah

"The Wrath and The Dawn"


I'm going to save how I really felt about this book for my review section! Let's just say I binged the hell out of this book!!


The Wrath & The Dawn, Renee Ahdieh. ©2015 Penguin Group. 404 pages.


Quick Summary: When the sunrises a new family is in heartbreak. Shahrzad knows this heartbreak when her best friend is murdered by the eighteen year-old boy king Khalid kills his new bride each morning. Wanting revenge, Shaz volunteers to be the King's new wife. So what happens when the King doesn't kill Shahrzad, she doesn't follow through with her plan, and Shaz's friends devise a plan to save her? You'll just have to follow their alternating story to find out.

You guys I absolutely fell in love with this book! I really thought at first I wasn't going to like it because it was slow but boy was I wrong. Shahrzad is this very headstrong and brave woman. She wants justice for the wrong that her closest friend has fallen victim to the Caliphs silk cord. No one knows why Khalid does this, or when it will stop. This book is also great because it is set in the Middle East, Ahdieh has a glossary in the back of the book for words that you wouldn't commonly know.

The amount of details in this book is so wonderful. You're reading this and it feels like you're right there with Shahzrad in her bed chambers or in the courtyard shooting arrows. It's the perfect mix, not too much that it distracts from the storyline but just enough get your imagination really running wild. I felt like I was really at Souk with Shaz and Khalid, wandering around with a disguise on.

It was also so frustrating and exciting seeing the twos relationship grow. They both learn so much from each other, what makes them scared and that maybe Khalid isn't the monster everyone has made him out to be. Also seeing how Shaz thought she knew what love was like with Tariq but finding herself lost in Khalid. How Shahzrad was able to bring the Caliph out of his bitter shell and able to reveal his true self to her.

I don't want to say too much more in fear that I'll spoil it for those of you that haven't read it yet. I would definitely recommend this too anyone that wants something with a little mystery and a love that is most unexpected. I'm currently reading the second book in this duopoly so you can look forward to that review soon. In the meanwhile I hoped you enjoyed this review and feel free to check out any other reviews. Let me know what you thought down in the comments down below, or if you've read this let me know what you thought of it. Until next time, enjoy.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page