top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah

Ugly Love


I can't wait to review this book! Let's just keep this short and sweet; this week I'll be reviewing a more adult novel. It's no Fifty Shades but it does have it's moments. So with that here is Ugly Love.

Ugly Love, Colleen Hoover. ©2014 Atria Paperback. 324 pages.


Quick Summary: Tate Collins is only focused on one thing and one thing only and that is to get her masters in nursing. In the meanwhile she moves in with pilot brother until she can afford her own place. Easy peasy or she thinks until the very complicated and very attractive neighbor Miles Archer proposes a deal that Tate feels she can't refuse. It's the perfect no-strings-attached arrangement but as Tate finds it harder to follow the two simple rules: Don't ask about the past; don't expect a future. Maybe this is more than both of them can handle.

I truly enjoyed every part of this book. I literally couldn't put it down, I was up until four a.m. drinking up every single word. Reading an Adult novel was refreshing since I mostly read young adult novels. I love YA but as I get older I see the appealing aspects of Adult novels too. With that I will still continue to love YA and mainly read that. Now if want to switch up things then I would suggest starting with this novel.

Tate Collins has just moved back to San Francisco and is currently living with her brother. It's downhill from the moment she steps off the elevator to her brothers floor. Tate is a role model woman for the 21st century. She's focused on work and education and no time for tom foolery. Well that's all true until Miles Archer enters her world. I was rooting for these two since he was passed out drunk on her couch.

It's also very interesting how the narration goes in this book. You start out with Tate talking in present day but at the next chapter you switch to Miles from six years ago while he was a senior in high school. This goes the whole book. It's clever really because as Tate begins mentally questioning Miles more and more we see in his younger point of view how he becomes so closed off to people and the idea of love. In some of Mile's chapters in was written in poem form which will make sense when you read the book.

Hoover did a fantastic job writing the sex scenes. I can't imagine being a writer and having to write such a powerful scene. You have to find that perfect balance between erotica and that quirky high school romance that's only a few lines and barely PG-13. I felt so emotionally attached to the characters, trying to figure out their ways of thinking.

All in all I wish I could read this novel for the first time again. I plan on buying more of Hoover's novels in the future once my TBR shelf count lowers. I hope this review was enjoyable for you all and can't wait to hear what you all have to say. Leave comments below and let's chat about what you thought. Until next time, see ya later!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page